Professionals News Update: March, 2005

Contents:

Voices of UPTE
UPTE-CWA Local 9119 is comprised of thousands of University of California employees -- all individuals with stories to tell. Following are the words of John Spring, who works at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He has worked at the Lab for 11 years as a Computer Development 3.

My job title is roughly equivalent to a Programmer Analyst II on the campuses, but I have worked at the Lab in various capacities: As a graduate student in Physics, I first worked on a soft x-ray interferometer; then I was a contract software engineer, then a term employee, and finally a career employee. My work is challenging, my supervisor is a reasonable and respectful man, and my pay is not too bad. So why did I join UPTE as soon as I became a career employee?

Well, first of all, I have not always been a Lab employee; I'm 47 years old and have spent thirty-two years in the workforce. I know what it's like to not have a voice in my job. I've seen layoffs that cost many of the workers their jobs but left the bosses who created the problems in place. And I've had the wonderful experience of watching fellow workers being pitted against each other in all sorts of creative ways. It happens. A lot.

Secondly, the eight hours (or more) at work is usually spent at the most creative and directed effort of the entire day. I am dedicated to doing a good job, and therefore expect to be treated as a valuable part of this machine we call research at the University of California. But asmy past experiences have shown, I cannot always rely on a rational response from a given employer; to them, I am a possibly expendable component whose value must outweigh my costs. So I need another force on my side, an ally who will come to my aid and amplify my voice. That force is UPTE.